Skip to content

Thief in the night.

March 17, 2012

I woke up this morning to find the pot of radishes on the floor.

Up until now I had hesitated to go vertical with my windowsill garden. While the cats were a little mischievous, it was nothing I couldn’t live with. The poor  beans are missing a couple leaves, and I have one less basil plant than planned. Not the end of the world.

This morning my salad date in 2.5 weeks was almost canceled. At the very least I think we’ll have to add some store bought produce to the lettuce and radishes in order to make it happen. I was able to save a couple of the radishes, but I’m not sure how well they’ll recover from the shock of having their leaves nibbles and their roots exposed. The lettuce was also attacked, but probably by the stealthier cat. It looks undisturbed, expect that two or three plants are missing. Taken by a cat burgler!

So I’ve started to think about going vertical. Taking those delicate little guys and suspending them in the window. I’m worried about exactly how we’re going to anchor them, and exactly how I’m going to suspend them (Macrame is still an option, but it scares me).

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

